Chicago Krav Maga Self Defense Training Center

Call us: 847-679-3330


Ultimate Martial Arts Reviews

  • Came here as a teen many years ago and now my son is enrolled. Great instructors and facilities, great to see the school continually grow and improve and staying relevant. There are many martial art schools out there, but many lack professionalism and facilities like Ultimate Martial Arts.

    Carlos P - August 2017
  • My kids love the place. The instructors/staff are friendly and very professional. We live in Skokie and is very strategically located if you want to pass by establishments like Dunkin donuts, Walmart etc (which we often do). My wife and I recommended UMA to our friends. Great place for children to enjoy learning martial arts.

    Lloyd M. - July 2017
  • Excellent Martial Arts school that's become extended family. Hoping Martial Arts could help our son with focus, fitness and self defense, UMA has exceeded our expectations. Every instructor is great with kids from newbies on up. Our son and all the friends he's made leave every session positive and smiling. Besides achieving black belt we're convinced his UMA training has improved all his other activities and academics over the last 3+ years. Definitely recommend UMA if you're looking for an activity that could benefit your children in so many other ways. They think outside the typical discipline, confidence, and exercise you'd expect, UMA instills lost values respecting others, honoring family and supporting each other as well rounded strong adults.

    Wayne C. - July 2017
  • For more than two years now UMA continues to provide me with a high intensity curriculum and engaging instructor led classes that has not only transformed my fitness level but taught me a skill set that will last a lifetime. Working with all of the instructors especially George and Sergio is a highly motivating, confidence building experience as they are very focused on teaching technique, fitness and aggression levels. The course work offered that's part of my weekly routine includes Krav Maga, Kickboxing, heavy bag, TRX and yoga. I have also started bringing my nephews along for Tae Kwon Do as well as join me for some of the other classes and consider many of the folks at UMA like family.

    Alex P. - June 2017
  • UMA is like a home away from home for me. It is family owned with an extremely respectful environment and welcoming staff. I started when I was 5 and practiced and trained here for over a decade; I have a 2nd degree black belt and competitions medals to prove it. It has provided me with nothing short of a solid foundation for my health, fitness, and life. I am a better person and now father because of the life teachings this school has provided me. My siblings and father trained here and all have successful lives thanks to UMA. Now, my son is here and has improved in every aspect of his life thus far.

    Being around for well over 20 years, this place deserves more than 5 stars..... to all the "one star" reviews, you need to get your facts straight and post more than just a sentence about your reasons for your rating. If you commit yourselves correctly, you would have a completely different view. This is truly one of the best Tae Kwon Do schools and I highly recommend bringing yourselves and family here to train....and learn life lessons that will prove to be extremely beneficial.

    Patrick P. - June 2017
  • I have been coming to UMA for almost 2yrs. The Kickboxing classes are what brought me in. I have stayed because of how fun the classes are. The Boxing, Heavy Bag, Weapon Defense and TRX are excellent. Definition in my body has been a great bonus, in addition to the increase in stamina. Instructors are great. They are knowledgeable and trained. They continue their own training to pass on to their students. The front desk is usually ran by Carolina, she is friendly as can be. The owner & family very welcoming. Support your ma' & pa' shops. Location is great.

    My 6yr old daughter just started their Tae Kwon Do classes as well. The mix of gentle and firm instructors is great. My daughter looks forward to her weekly class all the time.

    Eva M. - June 2017
  • This is my 9th year going to Ultimate Martial Arts. I am currently a second degree black belt hoping to become a third degree. For all the years I have been coming here I have not had an experience that was anything but flawless and amazing. You feel like a part of the family. By going here I have gained life skills and physical skills. I highly recommend Ultimate Martial Arts above any other place. The instructors and Master Peña act like your accomplishments are their own and you can really feel that they care about you. They push you to greatness and make sure you exceed. Their classes are enjoyable and interesting. I started when I was 4 years old and had an amazing 9 years and there are so many more wonderful years in front of me.

    Emilia D. - June 2017
  • My daughter has been going here for 9 years. It has been a pleasure seeing her grow up and gain not only physical skills but also life skills. Ultimate Martial Arts has been a wonderful experience and I am thankful that it is a part of our ...MoreMy daughter has been going here for 9 years. It has been a pleasure seeing her grow up and gain not only physical skills but also life skills. Ultimate Martial Arts has been a wonderful experience and I am thankful that it is a part of our lives. They are kind and supportive and make you feel like you are part of the family. For the past 9 years, every time my daughter has come home from her class here she has a smile on her face and is happy and always says what a wonderful time she had. I highly recommend it if you want your child to become confident, brave, tough, determined, and successful. Like Master Peña says a black belt is a white belt who never gives up.

    Iwona D. - June 2017
  • Uzma Shariff, Ultimate Martial Arts Testimonials

    One word: Awesome! UMA's classes and instructors are excellent. Juan, Sergio, George and Raul are all highly skilled, patient and encouraging. These guys keep the classes fresh and innovative so you never get bored, always incorporating new techniques with an emphasis on proper form. Take advantage of the free class that UMA has to offer and I guarantee you will be hooked!

    Uzma Shariff
  • My children have been attending Tae Kwan Do classes here for about a year.  It's been a great experience.  

    The staff are true professionals and my kids are learning a lot.  It was exactly what I was looking for.

    Natasha G - May 2017
  • The Krav Maga program has grown over the last couple of years to offer training to L3-L4!

    They have done a great job of retaining students who want to progress through the levels. There are Regular Krav classes that focus on curriculum special weapons class and sparring weekly as well!

    Heavy bag/Kickboxing are there to improve power and technique, as well as TRX to improve balance and coordination with functional training.

    I have been a member since Nov 2013.

    Evan L - May 20117
  • JOE M BARAL - MARCH 2017, Ultimate Martial Arts Testimonials

    Our family truly loves Ultimate Martial Arts! Reception/Waiting areas in the first & second floor may be not as large as other places, but they truly make up for this with the ratio of teacher to student!

    At first I was a bit concerned because our first trial class was about 15 kids. Then as the class started I noticed there a total of 4 instructors! I'm not sure how it is with other places but this was much better than our previous encounter. They broke the class into 4 subgroups based on belt color and ability. Furthermore, they provided individualized instruction as the class progressed!

    The instructors were patient and constantly stressed respect not only with the instructors but to their fellow students, parents, and others.

    Another reason we were drawn to this facility, was that it seemed to be the neighborhood TKD (Lincolnwood, Sauaganash, etc). We bumped into our neighbors, our children’s classmates, as well as fellow parishioners who all are very satisfied with UMA. The instructors were patient and constantly stressed respect not only with the instructors but to their fellow students, parents, and others.

    Another reason we were drawn to this facility, was that it seemed to be the neighborhood TKD (Lincolnwood, Sauagansh, etc). We bumped into our neighbors, our childrens' classmates, as well as fellow parishioners who all were very satisfied with UMA.

    The instructors were patient and constantly stressed respect not only with the instructors but to their fellow students, parents, and others.

    Another reason we were drawn to this facility, was that it seemed to be the neighborhood TKD (Lincolnwood, Sauagansh, etc). We bumped into our neighbors, our childrens' classmates, as well as fellow parishioners who all were very satisfied with UMA.

    The instructors were patient and constantly stressed respect not only with the instructors but to their fellow students, parents, and others.

    Another reason we were drawn to this facility, was that it seemed to be the neighborhood TKD (Lincolnwood, Sauagansh, etc). We bumped into our neighbors, our childrens' classmates, as well as fellow parishioners who all were very satisfied with UMA.

    JOE M BARAL - MARCH 2017
  • I went to UMA to try it out. I have ever done martial arts or any type of formal fighting. The instructor that day was very informative and knowledgeable on what he taught and was willing to work with me to help me get my form down. The class was intense and challenging. I would recommend going to UMA to train. Staff was welcoming. And all the students helped each other out. Great place, looking forward to become a member!

    Saul Pacheco
  • Zalman Goldbloom, Ultimate Martial Arts Testimonials

    Great place to train and become fit! The staff are friendly, down to earth, knowledgeable, and professional. I really feel like I get a lot of value from each and every session.

    Zalman Goldbloom
  • Krav Maga classes are taught with a focus on fitness and surviving the worst of the worst. Each class focuses on something different and assuring mastery of each skill. I would recommend Ultimate Martial Arts and Krav Maga to those who desire an increased physical fitness and confidence in any situation that may arise. Keep up the good work!

    J.T. Pearson
  • Have upped my workouts to 5 days. Can't get enough of Kick boxing, TRX, and Heavy Bag Blast. I am really seeing a difference in my strength, body, and energy level, not to mention my self-confidence!

    Margaret Wojcicki
  • You leave every zumba class at Ultimate Martial Arts feeling uplifted and energized. Carolina is a vibrant instructor who makes every class exciting, its hard not to catch her energetic spirit. She encourages all her students and challenges them to be better. The class is challenging yet so fun that you hardly notice time flying by!

    Northwestern Research Participant
  • My two eldest daughters and I took the women only foundations class with Uzma and we absolutely loved it! I feel a sense of empowerment and confidence that I didn't have before and I'm so happy knowing my daughters have these basics started. I highly recommend Ultimate Martial Arts for anyone wanting to learn and moving forward in Krav Maga. The facility and staff were awesome and more than willing to help us learn the moves well. Thank you!!

    Aamina Ali-Ahmed
  • I have been taking the women's only class taught by Uzma Shariff and they have been EXCELLENT! She makes the skills we are learning applicable and allows us to practice until we feel comfortable. The KM classes have given me more confidence in my ability to defend myself and despite my busy schedule, I think the classes are well worth the time!. Thanks UMA!!

    Nour Akhras
  • Took the Sunday 8am class with Uzma Shariff and it was active and informative. Uzma is organized and knows what she wants us to learn from her class. She is thorough with her explanation of self defense technique. Gave us personal attention to make sure we were getting the technique correctly. Her 10 minute warm up got our heart rate going in no time, my legs and shoulders will look great next summer. Overall, it is a great class to take and it is only 45 minutes! I highly recommend it.

    Eva Moreno
  • My kids have been coming here for over a year - I have a black belt in HapKiDo and wanted them to learn discipline through martial arts training - the instructors specially Javed - are great with the kids. Carolina is excellent and the owners are the friendliest most down to earth people anyone could ever meet. I look forward to sending my 3rd kid here after she turns 7. Love this place and could not ask for a better bunch of people representing martial arts in Lincolnwood.

    Gustavo C.
  • My 3 children (ages 7,9 and 10) have learned so much from their wonderful instructors.  We are delighted to see our children excel not only in tae kwon do but in life because this school teaches much more than martial arts.

    Sandra W.
  • I started the Krav Maga classes in January of this year.
    Every time I go to class I learn something new and I feel better when I leave. The instructors are understanding and helpful. I have been having fun while learning in the class. There are several classes offered every week and there are different lengths of time which you can sign up. 
    This is my first time taking any self defense classes. I give it 5 stars because I believe this facility is a great place to learn Krav Maga, kickboxing, TRX and more. There are different levels of training and the people that have been training here longer have only had good things to say.

    Audrey A. - April 2016
  • My wife and I have enjoyed all of our time with Ultimate Martial Arts.

    The entire staff was great to work with.

    The classes were all very challenging and the instructors were all very professional and patient.

     Thanks for all your help in teaching us. We wish we could stay longer.

    Randy M. - APRIL 2016
  • My kids confidence level has grown.

    We appreciate the wonderful instructors, their attention for each student individually and the great staff, always friendly.

    We couldn’t be happier.

    Thank you UMA!

    Floria S. - April 2016
  • Learning Taekwondo at Ultimate Martial Arts has changed me for the better. It certainly has made me more athletic. As well as making me better physically, it has also significantly made me better mentally.

    I am able to focus on the task at hard, whatever it may be, with more concentration. My success is thanks to my instructors.

    They know how to teach, and they do it in such a way that it’s easy to learn.

    I highly recommend Ultimate Martial Arts for anyone interested in learning Taekwondo.

    Malik K. - April 2016
  • Before enrolling my son in Ultimate Martial Arts, he was shy, quiet and reluctant kid. UMA has transformed him to a confident, active, enthusiastic and most importantly disciplined kid.

    We are so happy to share that these have translated to better interaction in school, joining sports activities and even getting better grades!

    He takes so much pride in Taekwondo achievements that he makes sure to show his trophies, belts to our guests consistently. The passion, patience, enthusiasm and experienced instructors are impressive!

    We cannot be happier!

    Russel Cabrera - April 2016
  • Awesome experience with the whole team at Ultimate Martial Arts. Thanks to Master Pena for bringing  difference in my daughter' life (Khan.T). I appreciate all the hard work of Leanne, Javed and Master Pena himself.

    Syeda Rahila Ali - July 2016

    Request More Information

    Cancel